SCS Spring Meeting

5. April 2019

Empa, Dübendorf, AKADEMIE

The Swiss Chemical Society Spring Meeting is a one day symposium and provides a high quality program with national and international speakers of a certain topic.

It is also the platform for the Werner Prize Ceremony and the Werner Award Lecture.

The topic of the 2019 edition is «Novel Pathways in Materials Science» and the event takes place in the Empa-Akadmie. The organizers, Dr. Brigitte Buchmann and her team invites you to join the event and is looking forward to welcoming you in Dübendorf in early April 2019.



Prof. Dr. Edward Sargent, University of Toronto (CAN)

Prof. Dr. Mercouri Kanatzidis, Northwestern University, Evanston (USA)

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Janek, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (GER)

Prof. Dr. Michele Ceriotti, EPFL Lausanne (SUI)

Prof. Dr. Christophe Copéret, ETH Zurich (SUI)

Dr. Maryna Bodnarchuk, Empa (SUI)


During lunch time the Swiss Chemical Society will hold it's annual General Assembly. All members are cordially invited to join. Program



09.00 Welcome Coffee, Registration

09.30 Opening of the symposium, welcome message, Dr. Brigitte Buchmann, Head of Department Mobility, Energy and Environment, Empa

09.45 Prof. Dr. Mercouri Kanatzidis, Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University, Evanston (USA)

10.35 Dr. Maryna Bodnarchuk, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Empa, Dübendorf (SUI)

11.25 Prof. Dr. Edward Sargent, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Toronto (CAN)

12.15 Lunch

13.00 SCS General Assembly 2019

13.30 Werner Prize Award Lecture 2019, Prof. Jeremy Luterbacher, EPFL Lausanne (SUI) 

14.20 Prof. Dr. Christophe Copéret, Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry, ETH Zurich (SUI)

15.10 Coffee Break

15.40 Prof. Dr. Jürgen Janek, Physikalisch-Chemisches Institut, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (GER)

16.30 Prof. Dr. Michele Ceriotti , Labaratory of Computational Science and Modelling, EPFL Lausanne (SUI)

17.20 Closing remarks, Aperitif


Registration deadline is March 30, 2019.

For more information and registration please go to